Attempt #2

For my second wood burn, I tried out my other pen which has a much larger tip. I quickly realized that it burns much smoother and is easier to handle, but it pretty impossible to use on small details. 

  
Luckily, I was able to use this pen for about 90% of the burn and use the detailing pen for the rest. I decided to make a gift for my cousin’s wife’s baby shower in a few months. They’re having a little boy!

  
Just transferring the image onto the wood is a process and definitely my least favorite part thus far when it comes to wood burning. But once it’s on, I can picture the end result and get excited to start burning. 

  
It didn’t take long for me to notice the difference between pens. This one creates much smoother lines and requires a lot less pressure…my hand thanked me!

  
It’s a little tricky to fill in with this pen, but I made it work. 

  
I got a bit further than this before I had to switch pens, but here’s the final result…

  
It’s not perfect, but I’m happy with how it turned out! Next time I’ll make the words bigger so it’s easier to burn, but I think it will be perfect in his nursery! What do you all think?

X B

2 thoughts on “Attempt #2

  1. Hello, nice idea and beautiful. I am using same wood burning tool for different projects. unfortunately the main problem of this tool is overheating. A light dimmer solve this problem. you can make more precise wood burning by controlling heating of this tool.

    Like

Leave a comment